Can’t Help but Hate Me

I look at myself in the mirror
Can’t help but mutter a curse
Not out of exaltation
But from how it got so worse

They say be happy with your own skin
Be glad for the body you were born in
But every flaw makes it so very hard
To even try to put oneself in high regard

I mean when I look at me
It’s just so very hard to see
How can I even think I’m pretty
When all I have is mediocrity

At most, I guess I am average
like an awkward gray area
Which neither prompts disgust
nor induce mass hysteria

A normal indistinct face
Nothing that stands out among the race
A crooked back and a weird squeaky voice
Fats in places as though it was a choice

Sometimes I wish I could be
Proud of my own body
Apologies for my lack of positivity
But I just can’t help but hate me

Leave a comment